Pork Pot stickers

Pot stickers are a great treat to make a big batch of and freeze for later. They make a tasty and quick dinner for those nights when I don’t feel like cooking.
image

They are really easy to make and you can stuff them with almost anything. Last time we used left over roast chicken. This time I wanted pork.

image

About a cup of Greens, chopped  (usually I would use cabbage or bok choy but I fed the rest of the cabbage to our house rabbits so I had to choose an alternative. I had some Swiss chard in the crisper so I used that)
3 green onions, chopped
Handful of water chestnuts, chopped (optional)
1-2 Tbs fresh ginger, finely minced or grated.
1clove garlic, minced
1 Tsp corn starch
1Tbs soy sauce
1/2 Tsp sugar
1 Tsp sugar
1 package fresh Gyoza wrappers
image

image

Pour hot water over the chopped greens and let it sit for 5 minutes. Drain and squeeze all the water out.

image

image

Mix all the filling ingredients together with your hands until well incorporated.

Start filling them.
image
image
image
image

I have my husband do this because he’s more dexterous than I am.

Hold a wrapper in one hand and put about a table spoon of filling in the middle. Dip your fingers in water and lightly wet the wrapper on one side.

Fold the sides over like a taco and pinch closed at the center. Then working from the center outward, fold and pinch it closed, creating pleats every half inch or so. Do one side at a time.
image
At this point you can spread them out on a cookie sheet and freeze. When they are frozen, put into a Ziploc bag.

To cook them heat a bit of oil in a pan and place the dumplings, seam side up in the pan. Don’t over crowd. Cook over medium-high heat till the bottoms are brown and crisp. Pour about 1/4 cup of water into the pan and cover. Steam till cooked through.
image
image

Serve with dipping sauce:

Soy sauce
Lemon juice
Mirin
Fresh garlic
Fresh ginger
Sesame oil

3 thoughts on “Pork Pot stickers

  1. Pingback: Asian Inspired Grilled Pork Chops with Chinese-Style Bok Choy | LauraLovingLife

  2. Wow. Look at those beautiful pleats. I’ve got some gyoza wrappers living sitting in my freezer but I suspect if I ever turn them into filled gyoza they will look rather sad & lumpy. Love it when there are water chestnuts in potstickers cuz the bit of texture is always nice.

    Thanks for following my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

