Blinis with Home Cured Trout Roe

Blinis with Home Cured Trout RoeToday the adorable Jessica from Fair Share CSF offered me some fresh trout roe to sample. I was super excited but a little intimidated because I wasn’t sure what to do with them.
My husband said “Oh good, we can have blinis!” I made them for him on Valentine’s Day five years ago and he’s wanted them again since.

I didn’t know how to brine fish eggs so I used the instructions Jessica sent me on this blog. The hardest part is removing the membrane from the eggs. (I read on another blog that if you salt them first the eggs just fall out of the sac, but I read that too late to try it. )

IMG_20131103_162235_083You have to soak them in the hottest tap water you can handle to toughen up the eggs a little so that they can take being handled. They are still pretty fragile and I lost a lot of them.  I kind of swished them around and picked off bits where I could. The membrane floats to the top so you can scoop it out with a tea strainer. I kept straining them and refilling the hot water till I got as much membrane off as I could. It took quite a while but I did manage to get a pile of opaque, membrane-less eggs.IMG_20131103_163333_106 (1)

Then I strained them and added a teaspoon of salt and mixed it in with my fingers. They started turning bright orange right away.IMG_20131103_163509_982

I put them in the fridge for half an hour, gently mixed in  another teaspoon of sea salt and transferred them to a strainer. I set the strainer into a bowl and returned them to the fridge for an hour. After an hour the salt was all absorbed and the moisture was drained out.IMG_20131103_180530_811

When I took them out they were clear, plump and bright orange.

IMG_20131103_180740_993

Look at that! So pretty!

I suggest taking a pretty big taste at this point. Mine were too salty because I didn’t taste enough of them to notice. If they are too salty you can soak them for 10 minutes in cold water.

Now the blinis. I used Martha Stewart’s recipe here.

Here is her recipe:

  • 2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast (one 1/4-ounce envelope)
  • 1/2 cup warm water (110 degrees)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • Coarse salt
  • 1/2 cup low-fat buttermilk
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted, plus more for pan
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 large eggs, separated

I followed it exactly except I didn’t have buttermilk so I used half & half with a squirt of lemon juice in it.  Also, I used salted butter. They were really good – like pancakes but yeasty and savory. Yum. This recipe made waaaaaay too many blinis for my needs though. We’re eating them plain as snacks now.

IMG_20131103_181636_412

I sprinkled the yeast over warm water and let it stand for 5-10 minutes. Meanwhile, I separated the eggs and set the whites aside. I whisked the yolks and added the sugar and “buttermilk” to them.

In a separate bowl I mixed the flour and the 1teaspoon of salt.

When the yeast mixture was foamy I added the egg/milk mixture to it, then added the dry ingredients. I let the batter rest for 30 minutes.

IMG_20131103_182543_386

Then I whisked the whites till stiff peaks formed and folded them in. I let the batter rest 10 minutes (there is a lot of waiting in these recipes.)

IMG_20131103_184057_296

On to cooking these buggers! I melted butter in a nonstick pan and dropped 1 tablespoon of batter in for each blin. I flipped them when they looked dry around the edges (about a minute and a half per side.)

IMG_20131103_190632_309

IMG_20131103_190359_326IMG_20131103_192308_361

Look how gorgeous! They were such a treat! It was very fancy for a Sunday night dinner to eat while watching Walking Dead but why not?

9 thoughts on “Blinis with Home Cured Trout Roe

  1. Thanks for sharing my post! I enjoyed reading yours and I think I will make some blinis for Christmas. A pity there is nothing (as far as I know) like Fair Share CSF in Paris but I will ask my parents to brings some fish eggs from Finland 🙂

      • The next time I will make the blinis myself (following your recipe); they are so much better homemade!

        Instead of tzatziki, you can also mix smetana with dill, pepper and lemon juice. In Finland we often serve this sauce with the oven-cooked salmon.

      • Oh my gosh they are so good.

        Yum, I love dairy products so much. That sounds amazing. I don’t know if I can find smetana in the US but maybe. Would sour cram or crème fraîche work?

      • There must be a Russian community in SF area? Try one of their shops to find smetana! I like smetana because it is thick but honestly, sour cream or crème fraîche are almost as good… Just be careful not to add too much of lemon juice because it can make the sauce watery.

      • Pourquoi pas, why not 🙂 ? I know you can order oysters directly from producers, and I think I will do it this Christmas, but otherwise I guess fruits de mer are a bit more challenging than e.g. fruits and veggies because of the distance of Paris from the sea.. So, lucky you!!

Leave a Reply

