Peppermint Melt Away Cookies

Peppermint Melt Away Cookies

I love mint. My favorite ices cream is peppermint, my favorite soap is peppermint, my favorite smell is peppermint. Basically, I would make everything peppermint if I could.

Strangely enough I have never bought a bottle of peppermint extract. I recently remedied that by ordering a bottle of Nielson Massey Pure Peppermint Extract from Amazon and immediately set to work making mint meltaways.

My favorite kind of cookie is a very buttery, shortbready, not-too sweet cookie rolled in powdered sugar. I love Russian Tea cakes and Melting Moments and Lemon Meltaways.  So I found a recipe online and adapted it to suit me needs. They turned out exactly the way I wanted and we ate most of them last night. I think there are 3 left. They are also super easy. I’ll be making these again.

Peppermint Melt Away Cookies

 Ingredients:

For garnish:

  • About ¼ cup powdered sugar
  • 2-3 drops pure peppermint oil (optional)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350º.
  2. In a stand mixer, beat butter until creamy. Add powdered sugar; mix until light and fluffy. Add peppermint extract; beat well.
  3. Add cornstarch to flour in separate bowl, mix well.
  4. Add flour mixture a bit at a time,  to butter mixture and mix well until well combined.
  5. Using your hands, roll cookie dough into 1-inch balls. Place onto ungreased cookie sheets and bake approximately 12 to 15 minutes or until bottoms are light brown.
  6. Remove from oven, and cool on wire racks. Be careful, they are fragile.
  7. While cookies are cooling, put powdered sugar on a plate and add a few drops of peppermint oil. Mix it in well with a fork. Make sure it is all absorbed into the sugar.
  8. When cookies have cooled, carefully roll them in the minty sugar. Again, be careful, these are very delicate and they explode at the slightest pressure
Leave a Reply

