Bulgogi (sort of)

I was going to make a chard and acorn squash tart for dinner but my husband had other ideas. He was craving Bulgogi. I decided delivery sounded better than cooking so I looked on grubhub.com for any Korean places delivering to our neighborhood. There was nothing. NOTHING! What is wrong with this world?

Now I wanted that sweet tender meat as much as he did. Thanks a lot, Mike.

I remembered I had a few rib eyes in the freezer so I figured I try to make it myself.  Back to cooking it is. It’s super easy.

  • 1 thinly sliced rib-eye
  • ⅓ cup of soy sauce 3 Tbl white sugar
  • 1 T sesame oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic, pressed
  • 2 T Mirin *
  • 2 T Apple juice (optional– this is supposed to be Asian pear juice but I only had an apple)*
  • ¼ onion, sliced into super thin rings
  • 2 T toasted sesame seeds
  • ¼ tsp of red pepper flakes
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp. of ginger, finely grated

* If you don’t have either of these things you can just leave them out. it will be sweet enough.

Bulgogi ingredients

First I grated the ginger and put the garlic through a garlic press. Then I sliced up the onions with my trusty mandolin. Then I threw everything else (except the meat) into the bowl and mixed it all up.

Grating Ginger with microplaneIMG_20131110_173308_659

My steak was frozen but that’s good because it’s easier to slice super thin. I defrosted it for a few minutes in the microwave till it was soft enough to slice. I cut it super thin with a sharp knife.Meat in the marinade!

Then I tossed it in the bowl and mooshed it around with my hands till the marinade was all over every piece. I put it in the fridge and let it sit for an hour. Meanwhile, I made some white rice and a simple salad with sesame dressing.

On the grill pan

After an hour I heated up my grill pan till it was super hot and added a tiny bit of oil.  I gently placed the meat on the grill, a few strips at a time. I had to be careful not to crowd the pan so that the meat seared rather than steamed. I wanted that crunchy crust. Also, I had to drain the meat a bit so that not too much marinade got on the pan. I didn’t want to boil my ribeye either.

It didn’t take too long to get through my whole bowl of meat and  it was really easy.

I served it on the rice with a sprinkle of sesame seeds and it totally satisfied our Korean BBQ craving. No cool little charcoal grills or cooking at he table but for a home made version it was just dandy.Bulgogi, rice and salad

Leave a Reply

