Homemade Cheezits

8 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, coarsely shredded
½ stick  butter, room temperature
3/4 teaspoon  salt
1 cup all purpose flour
1 tablespoon ice water
1 tablespoon white vinegar

I used my food processor to grate the cheese and it took like 30 seconds.

image

Cream  the cheese, butter, and salt until smooth. It took a little longer than I expect it to.

Slowly add flour and mix, scraping down the sides of the bowl. It will form little pea-sized  crumbles like a short bread or pie crust.
Add the water and vinegar and mix till it all holds together.

image

Form the dough into a flat rectangle, and refrigerate an hour in a Ziploc bag.

Roll as thin as you can. Cut into 1-inch squares, then transfer to parchment lined baking sheets. I used a fluted pastry cutter but a pizza cutter would be fine. Poke little holes in each. I suppose I should have used a ruler to make these consistent but I cut them in a variety of sizes.

image

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Cool,  enjoy.

My husband polished these off before they even cooled down. He also ate the burned ones I was going to toss out. next time I’ll have to make 2 batches if I want to have any left for future snacking.

Leave a Reply

