Fresh Rhubarb and Candied Ginger Ice Cream

IMG_3626My step-dad gave us some rhubarb from his garden and it is too hot to make pie. I had recently noticed a Facebook Post about rhubarb ice cream but it involved lots of eggs and custard-making which sounded too fussy for me. I’m lazy.

I looked around the web and found this recipe from Taste of Home. I only changed it a little, because I am incapable of following a recipe without changing anything.

I’m sure roasting the rhubarb would produce a greater depth of flavor but I did not want to turn on the oven in this heat so I just cooked it on the stovetop with the sugar. I cut the sugar in half because I knew I was going to use crystallized ginger instead of fresh because I love it. I added a little honey too.

Recipe:

3 cups sliced fresh rhubarb
1 cup sugar
¼ cup honey
1 cup milk
1 cup heavy whipping cream
juice of one small lemon
1 teaspoon chopped candied ginger

First I chopped up the rhubarb and tossed it in a pot with the sugar and honey and cooked it on med-low heat till it was saucy. I didn’t time it but I’d say it was 15 minutes or so. Then I put it in the fridge to cool.

I chopped up the candied ginger.  When the rhubarb was cool, I stirred in the lemon juice to loosen it up a little, then added the milk and cream.  I stirred in the ginger and loaded it into my Cuisinart ice cream maker. So easy!!

IMG_3617icecreamakerjpg

IMG_3623

Leave a Reply

