Blueberry Pavlova

IMG_3736Mike held up a 2-pound box of blueberries at Fred Meyer hopefully and requested a Pavlova for dessert. I couldn’t say no.IMG_3716

I’ve made a lot of pavlovas and I seem to use a different recipe every time. This time I followed Ina Garten’s recipe, sort of. I cooked it at a higher temp as it didn’t seem to be crisping up. It was still more marshmallowy and soft than I prefer. I like them crispy on the outside so,I think next time, I’ll go back to baking it at 350.  Still, it tasted good and Mike loved it. He ate most of it in one sitting.

When I’m making this for company, I usually like to use 6 eggs and make a double layer of meringue, but for just the two of us I knew that would be way too much. I’ll make one and blog about it in the future.


Blueberry Pavlova

Meringue:

  • 4 egg whites, room temperature
  • Pinch kosher salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon champagne vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Blueberry Sauce:

  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1/8 cup sugar
  • ½ teaspoon corn starch
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • Pinch kosher salt

Vanilla Whipped Cream

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla bean paste
  • Fresh berries for serving

Here’s what I did:

Preheated the oven to 200 degrees. I used a plate to trace a 9” circle onto a sheet of parchment paper, flipped it over and used it to line a cookie sheet.

I beat the egg whites with the salt until stiff peaks appeared. Then I slowly added the sugar and kept beating for about 2 minutes until the whites were glossy.

Then, keeping the mixer going I sprinkled in the vinegar, corn starch and vanilla. I used a spatula to mound the egg whites into the circle and formed it into a disk shape with a bit of a dent in the middle.

I put it in the oven and baked it for 2 hours, turned the oven off and left it for another hour.

While it was cooking, I made the blueberry sauce. I just put the berries, sugar and lemon juice in a pan and turned the heat to medium. I cooked it till it was saucy, giving it a smoosh with a potato masher to squish some of the berries. Then I mixed the cornstarch with a splash of water and added it to the berry sauce, let it cook for a minute more, and then put it in a bowl in the fridge to cool.

During the last few minutes, as the meringue was cooling in the oven, I whipped up the cream, and added some of this Nielsen-Massey Vanilla Bean Paste. It’s so good!

When the timer went off, I carefully peeled the paper off the meringue and placed it on a cake stand, spread the cream over the top and decorated the top with blueberries and a few raspberries. Then I drizzled the berry sauce over the top.

Pretty, huh? It was gone by lunch the next day.

IMG_3740

Leave a Reply

